There are many reasons why someone would follow a gluten free diet. People who have a gluten-related disorder such as the autoimmune condition celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, or wheat allergy. Gluten free diets have also been widely popularized as a fad or weight-loss diet.
Now in order to know what to look for when you are buying gluten-free foods, let’s go to take a look at this very helpful gluten-free foods list that I have prepared for you!
Bye Bye Bread & Hello Rice!
Perhaps the most difficult step in a gluten free diet is bidding farewell to bread as you know it. that includes white, wheat, marble, and rye. Also off-limits are bagels, muffins, croissants, hamburger buns, scones, you get the idea. Yes, even pizza.
for the solution, you can replace an assortment of bread with normal bread. These are often made with rice or potato flour instead of wheat products. In case, just check the label to make sure it says “100% gluten-free.”
Enjoy the Corn & Rice Cereals
Traditional breakfast cereals are another casualty for people on a gluten free diet. When you are shopping, read the list of ingredients and avoid any cereal containing wheat, barley, rye, or malt.
Corn and rice-based cereals are good breakfast alternatives, but it’s crucial to read labels carefully, as some may also contain malt. So choose Rice and corn over wheat! simple as that!
Milk is On the Table!
Yes, milk is gluten-free! All types of plain cow’s milk are naturally free of gluten. However, some dairy products are not gluten free. Once flavorings or other ingredients have been added to milk it may no longer be gluten free, so it’s important to read the label to see if the product contains gluten or not.
Additionally, avoid malted milk drinks as they are not gluten free. The word “malt” on a food label usually indicates they are made with barley and therefore contain gluten.
Fruits & Vegetables are All Fair Game
All fruits and vegetables are gluten free, which allows for lots of variety in nutrients and flavors in your diet. Fresh fruits like berries, apples, bananas, peaches, citrus fruits, and more are all fair game, as are fresh vegetables like leafy greens, broccoli, asparagus, carrots, bell peppers, and many others.
But just in case, If you’re purchasing frozen, pre-chopped, or canned fruits and veggies, take a different look at the food label as they might be processed in a facility that processes gluten products.
Just Plant Based Oils
Skipping out on gluten doesn’t mean skimping on flavor. Plant-based oils like avocado oil, coconut oil, and sesame oil are good to sauté options as they have a high smoke point, while oils like olive oil and flaxseed oil are great for dressings.
Red Meat & Poultry
Yes, Plain, fresh cuts of meat are naturally gluten free. Both red meat (fresh beef, lamb, bison) and poultry (fresh chicken, turkey) and also rabbit are gluten free as well.
However, be careful with breaded or floured meats, which typically contain wheat and therefore gluten.
Fish & Seafoods
All kinds of fish do not contain gluten. Like Salmon is naturally gluten-free. As with all seafood like shrimp, scallops, and shellfish.
It is a matter of what is added during marinading or cooking like oils. So you should consider that, since fried foods like fried fish usually contain gluten, you should choose other ways of cooking like baking or grilling.
All Kinds of Potatoes are Gluten Free
All kinds of potatoes including russet, sweet, white, red, purple, fingerling, and Petites are gluten free. They’re also versatile enough that you can incorporate them into your gluten-free diet in many ways.
But consider that, Fried foods, such as french fries, usually contain gluten, so you should avoid it. But on the other hand, when you are in a restaurant and having fun with your friends ordering foods containing potatoes would not be your dilemma!
Peanut & Peanut Butter
Living gluten free can be a challenge. It’s important to know that peanuts, peanut butter, peanut flour, and peanut oil are considered naturally gluten free foods. Since peanut is one of the biggest and most popular parts of a common breakfast, it would be a relief for many who are on a gluten free diet.
Corn & Popcorns
Corn is a different type of grain that doesn’t contain any gluten at all. Popped popcorn contains corn, oil, maybe butter, or sugar, which are all gluten free and there is no need to be concerned about when you are on a gluten-free diet and have a craving for popcorn in any flavor! Just enjoy it!
Just in case when you are shopping, Inorder to have your best choice on gluten free foods just check the label to make sure it says “100% gluten-free.” Also, If you’re purchasing frozen, pre-chopped, or canned products it’s crucial to take a different look at the food label as they might be processed in a facility that processes gluten products.
Hi, I am Masi and I’m a fashion writer, I write about dress codes and styles. Since Style is a way to say who you are without having to speak, I am here to give you some fashion tips. So if u find them interesting, let me know by leaving comments.